I Can Do It!

To Love.To Serve.To Lift

Rest

Leave a comment

Recently, CM discovered how we can get Li-Ann to go to sleep quickly. Either CM or I will lie down beside her, get her to put her hands on her chest and tell her to close her eyes. If she’s really tired,  she’ll sleep within 5 minutes, after trying very hard to close her eyes repeatedly.Usually, LA will fiddle with her fingers or toss and turn before she dozes off. Sometimes, when I find her moving too much, I’ll hold down her hands and remind her to close her eyes. The best part is she sleeps without sucking her thumb – something which I pray to wean her off very soon but I have no clue how to do it.

I’ve observed, with my three children, that young children seem to find it hard to close their eyes. As they grow older, they are able to do it. I wonder why…maybe they still want to play…maybe they want to still see mom and dad…

Watching her quietly, I was reminded that we are all like that sometimes, unable to rest even when we are tired. We fiddle around, we toss and turn and allow ourselves to be distracted and finally, burnt out. Do we not want to rest? Or have we forgotten how to rest?

I’m so grateful that Jesus, who knows us in the depths of our souls, wants to give us rest. Jesus beckons us in Matthew 11: 28-30

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

I know that this is something I need to do on a daily basis – find rest in Jesus, in the Word of God.

Will you go to Him to refresh your souls too?

Author: Apple

HULLO THERE!!! I am a stay home mom and I homeschool my three children. On my blog, I share our homeschooling journey and also how I help my children, especially the youngest, who has Down syndrome, to be as independent as possible.

Leave a Reply

