I Can Do It!

To Love.To Serve.To Lift

Receive Thy Blessings II

1 Comment

I was reflecting on God’s goodness and marvelled at how quickly God spoke to me. As I’m fond of asking ‘Why?’, I asked again.

I came to two conclusions:

1. I asked and I received.

Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened.  Matthew 7:7-8

2. Two friends have committed to pray for me everyday for a whole month.This is in addition to the many dear friends who have been praying for me. This is our ‘homework’ for our devotion.

Hubby and I are doing ‘Putting On The Armour’ by Chuck Lawless for our couple’s devotion. 3 weeks ago, we began the topic on ‘The Power of Prayer’. The author emphasized the urgency of prayer in spiritual warfare; he reminds us to

* Pray at all times

* Be on alert

* Pray urgently for others before the attack

The last point was interesting – I’ve never seen the role of prayer from that perspective. I would like to share what he said:

Think about your church’s prayer list. In most cases, the people on a church prayer list are already sick, hurting, or under spiritual attack. We pray for families only after they are facing troubles. Our prayers for young people increase when we hear that they have made bad decisions. We pray for churches when word comes that their members are quarreling. The Devil works, and then we start praying.

Certainly, we should pray for people under attack, but often our prayers are only catching up with what the Enemy is doing. We pray re-actively rather than proactively. Perhaps if we continually and urgently interceded for others as Paul requested the Ephesians do, the Enemy would win fewer battles.

For whom should you be praying now, before the Enemy attacks? And who is praying for you? In the words of my students,’Who’s got your back covered?’ Whose back are you personally guarding?

The application for that lesson was to think of 2 persons whom I’ll pray for everyday for 1 month and also to ask 2 persons to pray for me everyday for 1 month. I kept reminding myself everyday to pray for those 2 friends of mine. It was hard work, believe me, and sometimes I did forget 😦 I chose 2 faithful prayer warriors and these 2 wonderful ladies have agreed to pray for me.  I am quite sure their consistent prayers made my struggle much easier to bear. I figured we will live more victorious lives if we pray for one another more urgently and consistently.

With this, I will commit to pray for you everyday for one month. Would you share with me how I can pray?

I have also decided to ask my friends to pray for me everyday for a month. Will you be that friend?

And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the saints.  Ephesians 6:18

Author: Apple

HULLO THERE!!! I am a stay home mom and I homeschool my three children. On my blog, I share our homeschooling journey and also how I help my children, especially the youngest, who has Down syndrome, to be as independent as possible.

One thought on “Receive Thy Blessings II

  1. Pray that you continue to receive all the blessings needed.

Leave a Reply

